a new home

After much thought (more like procrastination), I have moved my blog from Blogger to WordPress.  Although I love Google, I felt that I would be give a bit more freedom in terms of the layout with WordPress.

I also thought that the change would motivate me to post in my blog a bit more.  Not just art related things, but photos I’ve taken and artists I like.  Also, music.  Yes, music too.

So, to start off my new blog, I’ll post one of my favorite illustrators of all time, Mary Blair.

Mary Blair was a concept artist in the 1940’s, 50’s and 60’s.  She is probably best know for her concept work done on films Peter Pan, Cinderella, and Alice and Wonderland.  After resigning from Disney, she later moved on to doing freelance illustration and graphic design, working on advertising campaigns such as Nabisco, Maxwell House, and Pepsodent.  My personal favorites of her work includes her work with Golden Books, many of which are now out of print.

She did the design for Disney’s It’s a Small World exhibit.

Not too long ago  at the Enoch Pratt Central Library Branch in Baltimore, I saw the traveling Golden Books show, which included a few of Mary Blair’s originals.  Very stunning in person – they were gouache paintings, and it was a great way to see her process.  I could see how she constructed patterns and how she built up the layers of her paintings.

I enjoy almost all aspects of Mary Blair’s work.  I think what gets me the most is the shape design.  I love shapes, and this woman makes these interesting, flat shapes.  There’s a lot to stylizing something that we know to be realistic yet still making it recognizable, and she does it like a pro.

photo(2)

A couple of my Mary Blair tattoos.

2 Comments on “a new home”

  1. steph says:

    your photo doesn’t show up of your tats!

  2. steph says:

    NEVER MIND
    IT WORKS


Leave a Reply

