something i appreicate

It all started one day when I was walking home from work.   I noticed that a basement level apartment had really interesting wrought iron window bars:

photo7

I love the shape and pattern of the wrought-iron bars, and even more that it made something that was so practical interesting looking and sort of beautiful.  I guess that’s why I enjoy old architecture and antiques so much.  While they can often be ostentatious and tacky, they go to great lengths to make practical things look decorative and pleasing to the eye.

After I noticed that window, I noticed some other windows around the neighborhood that had such decoration as well.  Here’s some other favorites:

I used to have a bedroom in a basement and while I don’t miss it at all,  maybe I would have enjoyed it a little bit more if I had these pretty shapes in which to view feet through.

Leave a Reply

