mike perry

I have nothing new to show for myself lately, so I thought I’d go ahead and post the work on another artist that I like.  I haven’t done that in a while!

I’m sure that Mike Perry is not new to anyone.  If you haven’t heard his name, you have probably seen his work in some capacity.  He is a man that wears many hats (but not those Dr. Suess hats – those things are hideous) – he’s an illustrator, art director, active gallery artist and typographer.  He has done a large amount of work for Urban Outfitters. 

I first caught glimpse of his work during my senior year at MICA and my thesis teacher, Whitney Sherman had his book entitled Hand Job, a catalouge of hand-drawn typography.  I later came to find out that he is a midwesterner like me.  He is from Kansas (I want to say that I one time read he was from Lawernce, but I am not positive) but is now a transplant of Brooklyn. 

handjob

I also have his other book, which is called Over and Over, and has hand-drawn patterns.  Both books include a bit of his work but also have a number of different artists that are working the old fashioned way.

overandover

I am probably getting a little ahead of myself.  I should show his work:

castlecar

magnetic

location

skulltree

His work always speaks the same language – similar themes- but he switches between markers, digital, screen printing and ink work. What makes me drool over this work are the shapes and the quirky world that has been created.  It is definitly an unconvential world where things aren’t necessarily beautiful (fat hands and fingers, anthromorphized buildings)  but his drawings are fun. 

I find his work a little subversive (I like subversive).  I think partly it’s because the current skate/graffiti culture has an aesthetic that is similar to Perry’s -colorful, loud, and overall a little strange (think of those patterned sweatshirts that have become popular over the past couple of years), and that subculture likes to rock the boat a bit, get themselves in trouble sometimes. 

I don’t think that’s giving Mike Perry enough credit though.  I tend to look at him in the same vein as Gary Panter (creative director for Pee Wee’s Playhouse), but I don’t know if that’s right, either!

Leave a Reply

