cut paper tranquility

I tend to be very bad at things that involve tranquilty.   I have come to the conclusion that I will never be good at things like yoga or meditating because it invovles letting your mind go and being in moment.

The moment often bores me, as awful as that is.  I’m always needing a backup.  I feel the need to be entertained at all times and to have more than one thing going on at once.  (Currently at work I have a to-do list of six things and four tabs open on my web browser).  I think that’s why my iphone so much.  Endless possibilities to multitask at the most mundane of moments.

I guess what I’m trying to say here is that while things like yoga, knitting and sitting in the  park might relax some, such is not the case for me.   Worry not, however, I have  found my zen.  It’s cutting paper.  I could zone out for hours cutting out shapes and patterns with an exacto-knife and listening to my favorite tunes.  I can’t think of much that makes me happier.  That activity is one of the only times that I lose myself in the moment.

I’ve recently started reading the blog called Paper Tastebuds, which is written by a woman named Bryn Chernoff who specialized in handwritten and illustrated work.  Paper Tastebuds is a collection of things that she finds… dealing with paper, labels, etc.   It’s a great blog, especially if you like paper. Last week I saw the artist Karen O’Leary on there, and had to share:

koleary-papercuts-01

koleary-papercuts-02

I look at that and find a little slice of heaven.  No matter the painstaking amount of work that went into it, or how carefully and slowly she had to cut, that’s bliss right there!

4 Comments on “cut paper tranquility”

  1. sneph says:

    daaaang son
    that’s hot!

  2. sneph says:

    isn’t that what art does for ppl?

    when you create, it’s being immersed
    that moment
    the zone

  3. Bryn says:

    Hey Sara, nice to know you’re reading the blog! Thanks for the shout out. 🙂 — Bryn

  4. asrai7 says:

    Great post, thanks for sharing! I just recently started using cut paper in my studio, and it’s amazing! It’s nice to see other’s work as well 🙂


Leave a Reply

