golden thursdays with mary blair

So on Tuesdays and Thursdays, whatever I post here is a wild card for me.  Frankly, it can be mildly stressful to rack my brain and peruse the web to figure out what I would like the blogosphere to see today.  You see, I am a flawed human being that is easily distracted by things like Facebook, Twitter, my cell phone, and Google Reader.   I am also someone who loves a plan.  Sometimes, its nice to know what to expect!

Enough of my rambling.  What I’m trying to say is that for the next four Thursdays, I’ll be posting about Golden Books. Golden Thursdays?  Not contemporary Golden Books, mind you.  Vintage ones – books from the 40’s, 50’s and 60’s.  I have long been interested in them and love the style of illustration.  I have a illustrated a few children’s books so I find them inspirational.

If you aren’t familiar with Golden Books, here’s a little bit of background:  Golden Books were first introduced in 1942 and originally sold for 25 cents.  Simon and Schuster was the original publisher of these books, which have (and have maintained) a distinctive appearance throughout the years (namely, the golden spine).

I thought I’d start it off with Mary Blair, who is my favorite Golden Book Illustrator (and one of my all-time fav illustrators).  She had a book called Little Book of Verses, which was an over-sized Golden Book from the 1960’s.  Here are some images – What I really enjoy here are the shapes – so simplistic but so very well designed.  Her technique of dry-brushing with patterning is also something to take note.  The patterning was done before computers.  I’ve seen her work in person, and it’s not particularly large.  I am envious of anyone that can work that small to create something so consistent.

( ^ this is a tattoo on my right shoulder!)

these are via the Animation Archive

One Comment on “golden thursdays with mary blair”

  1. steph says:

    love her
    love the two twins running with the twinsie dolls

    and the girl behind the tree playing peek a boo with the dancing frogs


Leave a Reply

