over the new years weekend

So happy 2010, ya’ll.  Hope your new years was a good one – mine started out with sushi and drinks, which led to home and more drinks, then to a party with a lot of dancing.  Overall, really fun, and I’m glad I got to ring in the new year with some of my favorite people!  Although, here was me New Years Day:

So, back to some art.  I know that I went on and on and on about an Invisible Sign of My Own and how I was going to make work based on the book.  Well, I started it, and congruently started to read one of Aimee Bender’s other books, Willful Creatures.  The book is a collection of short stories which I found much more engaging than her full-length novel.  I hadn’t put too much work into the Invisible Sign of My Own, so I decided to illustrate from Creatures instead.

The first story is about a little man who is kept as a big man’s pet and lives in a cage.  Below is my cut out of a cage, with a few different options for the background.  My Wacom stylus has still not been delievered, so I wasn’t able to do any work on the backgrounds once scanned in.  The mood of the story is rather somber, so I’m sort of leaning towards the dark-wash background. Which do you prefer?

One Comment on “over the new years weekend”

  1. sneph says:

    DARK WASH!!!!!!!!!! THAT’S AWESOME!!!!
    what if you drew line stuff on top?
    what if you drew one of your characters as ghostly lines?

    btw just the first image in itself is really pleasant.
    Just as a simple shape.
    Reminds me of ..you know
    keith herring shapes
    or matisse…

    me like my shapes.


Leave a Reply

