artist fridays: stacey rozich

This Friday I’ll be presenting the work of Stacey Rozich.  She is a recent discovery and one that I have looked at a bit since.

She recently attended the California College of Arts and has since moved back to her hometown of Seattle.  Her work is influenced by old children’s books, graphic novels as well as Slavic folk tales(!!!).

I think what makes her work so wonderful to look at is the surreal nature of the work, and the way she pairs patterns with each other. I love the characters she’s created and the context that it references, being a big fan of folk art myself.

I will be curious to see if she ever gives her characters a context (environmentally-wise).

All images via her blog, Mystery Meat.

Leave a Reply

