take it in

I don’t generally show my sketchbook because I think most of the drawings in it are pretty ugly, and I (rather unfortunately) have a terrible habit of only using sketchbooks for planning, when they should be for exploration!

Here’s a cut-out, paired with its sketch.  Often I am dissatisfied with my cuts, feeling that they don’t reflect my sketches.  I am happy with the progress of this one so far.

This is the start of an illustration for the story Off, out of Aimee Bender’s Willful Creatures.  It is the tale of a woman’s quest to kiss three men at a party – one redhead, another blonde, and lastly a burnette.  The main character is rich and constantly talking about her appearance and wealth. She’s rather backhanded in every aspect of her life.

One Comment on “take it in”

  1. mantarays are flat says:

    that’s a really nice sketch yo. The character’s face has a lot of expression.


Leave a Reply

